Terrible Maths Day – Creative thinking vs Logical Sense

I had a bad maths day today. In effect, I am currently devoid of any enlghtening mood to write about anything now.

The solutions I wrote earlier today to the math problems I had to solve nearly did not make sense to me. I’m drained of mental energy. Using quadratic forms for the equation to find the maximum area of a plot of land for a baffled farmer, I discovered I could not make a short cut which seems logical to me to the right answer. In fact, my “logical” way of solving this problem gave a different answer to the conventional way. But my logical way should have produced the same answer as the conventional way! Argh!!!

I love mathematics but just show me the Magic, not make me a Magician.

Or maybe my brain performance is not up to speed. Or maybe I’m thinking out of the box too much. Which brings me to this food for thought. Can creative thinking defies common sense and in a way makes you less smart? Or, people with too much common sense rarely exhibit creativity. Probably that’s why the goal-oriented Singaporeans totally lacks creativity but the whacky Japanese has full of them.

*Sighs* I can write only this much today…

Tags: ,

Leave a comment